The dragon screams but fails to take flight


Looking at this blank page

has unsettled

me tonight.

Something brought me here

and demands

answers, which

are thin on the

ground.

Slowly i resolve to

stop asking the

questions,

as people shop

at

the Tesco express

and wonder where their wives,

and lives,

went.

The dragon screams but fails to

take flight,

and my enemies all want

me as a friend.

If i decide that life is what

you make it,

does this mean i must now

learn

construction?

and why are the chidren all wanting

respect,

when they know only

fear

and how to create this in

others.

How can we exist if this is

the all of everything

and no one knows, or remembers,

how to charm the animals or make the

chidren laugh in their hearts and from

their

dreams.

Do you remember the garden where i took pictures

in the

snow?

ashes to ashes?… the boy in the bright blue

jeans?

tall grass in the sun?

Where are you tonight, what are you doing

and who are you

with?

as i sit here

quietly, in need of a

friend.

I used to watch you breathe and hold your hair

whilst you slept,

sobbing, for the broken

promise of a

child, which never

came.

The TV smiles the smile of a thousand

smiles,

whilst i look in the bathroom mirror

and decide i look old and am in need of

a shave.

I got a break today, but tomorrow i believe

the breaks may never

come,

and

the whole will once again be observed,

but believe me when i say

this:

The altar boy masturbates and thinks only of the

priest;

Bukowski turns in his grave, whilst

the new,

middle-aged angry,

stalk the evening hours with

hunger in their eyes

and feel sorrow for

the

children who never were,

and never will be

again.

3 Responses to “The dragon screams but fails to take flight”

  1. schleif Says:

    Wow, Drummerboy, describes my sitch perfectly, as I get ready to retire (at 4 AM), after learning that a recovering friend of mine died last night – still not sure how – while I was our recapturing my youth, waiting on line w/the girl I cut high school with in 1983 for Return of the Jedi, only this time it was w/her husband and two teenage kids for Harry Potter (us old folks need our coffeee!), so my minds in Potterland, New York, the interweb, and wherever my friend Hamdi’s soul ends up. Peace and Love.

  2. Sorry to hear that Scotty. I pray that he has moved onto what i once heard described as ‘freedom and ease’. I like that description, it allows me to find acceptance where previously there was only fear. Be lucky my friend

  3. Powerful. Thank you drummerboy.

Leave a Reply

